Perspectives sur la sécurité alimentaire

Des conditions stables sauf dans les zones affectées par les aléas climatiques

Octobre 2017

Octobre 2017 - Janvier 2018

Février - Mai 2018

IPC 2.0 Phase d'Insécurité Alimentaire Aiguë

1: Minimale
2: Stress
3: Crise
4: Urgence
5: Famine
Serait probablement pire, au moins une phase, sans l'assistance humanitaire en cours ou programmée
La manière de classification que FEWS NET utilise est compatible avec l’IPC. Une analyse qui est compatible avec l’IPC suit les principaux protocoles de l’IPC mais ne reflète pas nécessairement le consensus des partenaires nationaux en matière de sécurité alimentaire.

IPC 2.0 Phase d'Insécurité Alimentaire Aiguë

1: Minimale
2: Stress
3: Crise
4: Urgence
5: Famine
Serait probablement pire, au moins une phase, sans l'assistance humanitaire en cours ou programmée
La manière de classification que FEWS NET utilise est compatible avec l’IPC. Une analyse qui est compatible avec l’IPC suit les principaux protocoles de l’IPC mais ne reflète pas nécessairement le consensus des partenaires nationaux en matière de sécurité alimentaire.

IPC 2.0 Phase d'Insécurité Alimentaire Aiguë

1: Minimale
2: Stress
3+: Crise ou pire
Serait probablement pire, au moins une phase, sans
l'assistance humanitaire en cours ou programmée
La manière de classification que FEWS NET utilise est compatible avec l’IPC. Une analyse qui est compatible avec l’IPC suit les principaux protocoles de l’IPC mais ne reflète pas nécessairement le consensus des partenaires nationaux en matière de sécurité alimentaire.
Pour les pays suivis à distance par FEWS NET, un contour coloré est utilisé pour représenter la classification de l’IPC la plus élevée dans les zones de préoccupation.

IPC 2.0 Phase d'Insécurité Alimentaire Aiguë

Pays de présence:
1: Minimale
2: Stress
3: Crise
4: Urgence
5: Famine
Pays suivis à distance:
1: Minimale
2: Stress
3+: Crise ou pire
Serait probablement pire, au moins une phase, sans
l'assistance humanitaire en cours ou programmée
Pour les pays suivis à distance par FEWS NET, un contour coloré est utilisé pour représenter la classification de l’IPC la plus élevée dans les zones de préoccupation.

Messages clés

  • La performance des récoltes de banane, des racines et tubercules, du maïs et du haricot parmi d'autres cultures alimente la disponibilité alimentaire locale d'octobre à janvier. Les revenus générés par la vente de ces produits et de la main-d'œuvre permettront aux ménages d'accéder au marché. La plupart des régions sera en Minimale (IPC phase 1) et en Stress (IPC phase 2), hormis les zones affectées par Irma qui se trouveront en crise (phase 3).

  • De février à mai, la situation demeurera stable et certaines zones affectées par Irma auront commencé à se récupérer. Cependant, les zones côtières du Sud passeront en Crise (phase 3 de l’IPC) à cause des effets cumulés de l’impact de Matthew et des faibles résultats de la campagne de printemps. 

  • Les ouragans Irma et Maria ont eu un impact minime à l’échelle du pays mais certaines zones ont subi d’importants dégâts dans les départements du Nord-Est et du Nord. La destruction d’une partie des cultures est à noter ainsi que son impact sur la main d’œuvre et le commerce. Par ailleurs, les autres sources de revenu sont également affectées comme la pêche et la production de sel. 

CONTEXTE NATIONAL

Situation actuelle

Bilan et perspectives climatologiques

D’une façon générale, les conditions climatiques sont plus favorables cette année qu’en 2016, les précipitations ayant été de moyenne à au-dessus de la moyenne selon les estimations de différents centres de prévisions météorologiques, dont l'USGS, NOAA, CARICOF. Ces conditions se poursuivent en octobre favorisant le développement des cultures mises en place en été. Cependant, certaines zones du Sud (Tiburon, Les Anglais, Chardonnière, Côteaux, Roche à Bateaux) et dans la partie basse des Nippes (Anse à Veau, Petit Trou, etc.) en ont bénéficié moins.

L’Indice de Différence Normalisée de Végétation (NDVI) a attesté de conditions bien au-dessus de la moyenne (figure 1) par rapport à l'année dernière et à la moyenne des dix dernières années, pour l'ensemble du pays.

Impact des ouragans Irma et Maria

Le passage des ouragans Irma et Maria a eu des effets importants au nord et nord-est du pays. Un rapport conjoint de la direction départementale agricole du Nord-Est (DDANE), de la direction de Protection civile (DPC) et de la FAO atteste que les plantations de riz, de banane, de manioc, de maïs, de pois Congo et d’arachide ont été les plus affectées. Environ 1 308 hectares de cultures sont complètement détruits, notamment dans les plaines (Maribaroux, Fort Liberté, Caracol, Trou du Nord, Limonade, Quartier Morin), et dans les hauteurs (Mont Organisé, Carice, Sainte Suzanne, Mombin Crochu).

Impact sur la production agricole de la saison

La saison agricole de printemps (mars-août) a donné des récoltes autour de la moyenne, selon le rapport d'évaluation CFSAM 2017 (CNSA et partenaires, octobre 2017). La campagne d'été-automne, dont les cultures principales sont le maïs et le haricot, a initié en juillet et les récoltes ont déjà atteint leur pic dans certaines régions comme l'Artibonite, le Sud, le Centre et les régions montagneuses des Nippes, alors que dans d'autres zones, dont la Grand'Anse (Chambellan, Beaumont, etc.), le pic sera atteint en novembre. Les récoltes devraient être proches de la normale, notamment pour le haricot, culture la plus importante de la saison. Pour le maïs, certaines variétés arrivent à maturité dans la plupart des régions et s'apprêtent à être récoltée, à l'exception de Ounaminthe (Nord-Est) où une variété à cycle court a été semée et est déjà récoltée en octobre.

Par ailleurs, les précipitations ont beaucoup bénéficié aux autres cultures comme la banane, l'arachide, les racines et les tubercules, en particulier dans la Grand'Anse, le Sud et les Nippes au niveau des montagnes ainsi que le Centre, l'Artibonite et le Nord-Ouest. Les récoltes y ont déjà débuté et alimentent significativement les marchés où la banane et l'igname sont les produits locaux les mieux représentés. Quant aux fruits d’arbre véritable, quelques récoltes minimes sont observées dans la Grand'Anse sans retrouver le niveau d’avant Matthew pour l’instant.

Dans le Bas Artibonite, le riz semé ou repiqué en mai et juin est en récolte. Selon l'un des informateurs clés de la zone, la production est inférieure ou égale à la normale, en raison d'une diminution de l'offre de travailleurs agricoles pour la récolte. Ainsi, les plantations déjà prêtes pour la moisson pourrissent dans les "lagons" à cause d'un excès d'eau. A Marchand Dessalines et à Verrettes (Artibonite) les récoltes ont été pleinement effectuées et en ce moment des préparatifs sont en cours pour les cultures maraichères et la patate douce.

Par ailleurs, à Torbeck, dans le Sud, les récoltes de riz attendues pour ce mois ne sont pas bonnes à cause d’une faible disponibilité en eau au moment du semis et du repiquage (juillet).

Dans le Nord-Est, plus particulièrement au niveau de la plaine Maribaroux, les rizières ont été totalement inondées lors du passage de l'ouragan Irma. Il n’y a pas eu de dégâts significatifs dans les plantations des localités de Latasse, Ponigot, Malfety en raison de la longue durée de la décrue. Cependant, dans la commune de Ouanaminthe (zone Haut Maribaroux) où l’accès était encore difficile deux semaines après le passage de l’ouragan, les dégâts étaient plus importants à cause des pluies additionnelles postirma qui ont maintenu le niveau d’eau dans les parcelles.

Disponibilité des produits alimentaires

L’augmentation de la disponibilité en produits locaux issus des campagnes de printemps et d’été (maïs moulu et en grain, haricot (toute variété) et riz local) a atteint son pic entre juin et septembre. Les récoltes de la campagne d'été ne représentent que 10 pourcent de la production agricole nationale, selon le ministère de l’Agriculture, des ressources naturelles et du développement rural (MARNDR). Les marchés sont donc encore alimentés par ces mêmes produits, mais en quantité restreinte.

Les marchés proposent actuellement des bananes, des racines et des tubercules, dont la production abonde particulièrement dans le Sud, les zones montagneuses des Nippes et de la Grand'Anse, le Plateau Central, l'Artibonite et le Nord-Ouest (Saint Louis du Nord, Jean-Rabel, etc.). Dans les zones touchées par Matthew, même si la consommation des produits importés ou provenant d'autres régions reste dominante, celle des denrées locales tend à retourner à la normale.

Par ailleurs, la disponibilité en produits importés reste stable.`

Evolution des prix

Après une importante baisse entre juillet et août, les prix des produits alimentaires de base suivis par FEWS NET et la CNSA ont affiché de faibles variations entre août et septembre.

Variation moyenne des prix entre août et septembre 2017 à l’échelle nationale :

  • Maïs : + 1,5 pourcent
  • Riz importé : + 1,7 pourcent
  • Haricot noir : < - 1 pourcent

Variation des prix entre août et septembre 2017 sur des marchés spécifiques :

  • Maïs, Port-au-Prince : + 13 pourcent
  • Haricot, Gonaïves : + 11,4 pourcent
  • Haricot, Jérémie : - 26,6 pourcent
  • Riz, Jérémie : + 6,5 pourcent

Les prix des produits importés demeurent stables.

Production animale

Les précipitations au-dessus de la normale ont facilité le développement des fourrages permettant aux éleveurs de nourrir leurs animaux. Avec la régénération du milieu naturel (la Grand'Anse, le Centre et l’Artibonite en particulier), les animaux reprennent de l’embonpoint et leur capacité reproductrice s’améliore.

Demande et offre de la main d’œuvre agricole

Après une augmentation saisonnière due aux activités de récoltes de juin à juillet et au lancement de la campagne d'été (juillet-septembre), la demande de main-d’œuvre a diminué en octobre. Elle est sur le point de connaitre un nouvel élan avec les récoltes en cours et les préparatifs en vue du lancement de la campagne d'hiver en novembre-décembre, en janvier-février avec les récoltes d'hiver et en mars-avril avec la campagne de printemps.

La rareté des travailleurs agricoles fait augmenter le coût du travail journalier, qui passe de 100-150 à 200-250 gourdes. Ceci est dû au fait que les travailleurs s'intéressent de moins en moins aux activités agricoles, préférant migrer vers la République Dominicaine ou le Chili ou s'adonner à la pratique très courante du transport à moto. Il y a lieu de souligner une migration saisonnière des travailleurs agricoles résidant dans les zones de montagnes, ceci au niveau de l'Artibonite et du Nord-Est. En période de récoltes ou de semis, ils migrent vers les plaines irriguées, estimant que les conditions de travail y sont meilleures que dans leurs régions respectives.

Autres sources de revenus

Les ménages pauvres s'adonnent aux activités de petit commerce de produits agricoles ou non agricoles, ainsi qu’à la production et vente de charbon de bois. Ce sont des activités qui permettent aux ménages de compléter leur revenu habituel.

Les données de la Banque de la République d’Haïti (BRH) suggèrent une progression des transferts privés de la diaspora haïtienne vers le pays. Le volume transféré trimestriellement d'avril à juin 2017 par rapport à janvier-mars a augmenté de près de 7 pourcent, portant le montant à plus de 700 millions de dollars. En comparaison annuelle (avril-juin 2016/avril-juin 2017), cela représente une variation de 17 pourcent, un montant qui est susceptible de s'accroitre au cours du mois de décembre à l'occasion des festivités de fin d'année. On doit préciser, toutefois, que bien que les très pauvres ne reçoivent pas directement de transferts venant de l’étranger, ils peuvent en bénéficier indirectement dans la mesure où une partie de ces fonds est utilisée dans la production agricole et d’autres activités, générant des sources d’emploi.

Assistance humanitaire d’urgence

Le programme humanitaire pour la période comprend :

  1. L'assistance alimentaire inconditionnelle aux familles affectées par les catastrophes, fournies par le Programme Alimentaire Mondial (PAM);
  2. La distribution des rations alimentaires à environ 29 centres de santé et aussi dans le cadre du volet d'Accès au marché du projet "KABOS" implémenté par la Catholic Relief Service (CRS) 
  3. Le développement des filières agricoles, la gestion des ressources naturelles et le renforcement de la résilience aux catastrophes naturelles et aux crises alimentaires, mis en œuvre par diverses institutions, dont le PAM et CRS.

Ces interventions ciblent plus de 60 000 ménages. De plus amples détails seront fournis dans les prochaines publications.

Suppositions

A l'échelle nationale, le scénario le plus probable d'octobre 2017 à mai 2018 est basé sur les hypothèses suivantes :

  • Prévisions saisonnières. Les prévisions pluviométriques seront au-dessus de la normale d'octobre à décembre, et continueront ainsi pour la période janvier-février 2018 et dans la moyenne jusqu'en avril-mai.
  • Production agricole de la saison d’été/automne (récoltes en octobre-novembre). En se basant sur les pluies supérieures ou égales à la moyenne de septembre à novembre 2017, et de l'état du développement des cultures d'été, il est probable que la production agricole de ladite saison soit proche de la normale, à l’exception des zones frappées par un manque ou un excès significatifs d’eau.  
  • Production agricole de la saison d’hiver. Les prévisions pluviométriques anticipent une production d'hiver moyenne. Néanmoins, dans les régions basses des Nippes, de la côte sud, de la Grand’Anse, du Sud-Est et de l'Ouest, les conditions de sécheresse, durant les trente derniers jours, pourraient retarder le lancement de cette campagne.  
  • Main-d’œuvre agricole. Une augmentation de la demande de main-d'œuvre agricole est probable, avec les activités de cueillette et de récolte en novembre/décembre ainsi qu'avec les activités liées à la campagne d'hiver, hormis les zones ayant été affectées par la sécheresse au cours des trente derniers jours. La demande devrait augmenter à nouveau en janvier-février avec les récoltes d'hiver jusqu'en mars avec le lancement de la campagne de printemps.
  • Prix des aliments importés et locaux. Les prix des denrées alimentaires de base importées, notamment le riz, devraient rester proches des niveaux actuels, surtout avec la relative stabilité du taux de change. Il en serait de même pour les produits locaux jusqu’en décembre, les récoltes d'été-automne aidant. Ceux-ci devraient subir une augmentation entre février et mai en lien avec la baisse de la disponibilité.
  • Transferts des fonds privés de la diaspora. Selon la BRH, la diaspora haïtienne injecte près de 2 milliards de dollars américains par an dans l’économie haïtienne. Pour beaucoup de ménages, c’est la principale source de revenus, alors que pour d’autres, cela intervient uniquement en période de grandes dépenses, particulièrement à l’ouverture de l’année scolaire en septembre/octobre et en décembre pour les fêtes de fin d’année. A ce titre, il est probable que les transferts continuent d’augmenter durant la période de perspective.
  • L’évolution du taux de change. Le taux de change HTG/USD s’est stabilisé depuis avril dernier, avec les interventions des autorités monétaires sur le marché bancaire, lesquelles y ont injecté plus de 120 millions de dollars américains.
  • Assistance humanitaire. Pour cette période de perspective, l’assistance humanitaire attendue serait en place dans la partie sévèrement affectée par l’ouragan Irma, en particulier le Nord-Est. De nombreuses ONG locales et internationales sont sur place pour appuyer les populations sinistrées après le passage de l’ouragan. Il s’agit, en plus de l’assistance humanitaire, de programmes visant à rétablir les moyens d’existence et renforcer la résilience des populations. Il est probable que l’assistance humanitaire se prolonge sur toute la durée de la période de projection, cependant, nous ne disposons pas à l’heure actuelle d’informations officielles nous permettant d’établir que l’aide sera financée ou programmée jusqu’au mois de mai 2018.

Résultats les plus probables de la sécurité alimentaire

D’octobre à Janvier, la situation alimentaire devrait rester stable, tenant compte des récoltes d’été et d’hiver consistant en maïs, haricot, pois Congo et sorgho. De plus, la bonne performance de la production de bananes, de racines et de tubercules indique une certaine stabilité au niveau de la disponibilité locale. Par ailleurs, les revenus générés par la vente de main-d’œuvre et des récoltes de ces denrées permettront aux pauvres d’accéder au marché. Ainsi, la plupart des régions resteront en situation Minimale d´insécurité alimentaire (phase 1 de l’IPC). Certaines zones du pays, notamment le sud-est et quelques communes dans le centre, connaissent des problèmes structurels qui amènent de nombreux ménages à adopter régulièrement des stratégies inhabituelles pour accéder aux produits alimentaires et non-alimentaires, amenant ces zones en situation de Stress (phase 2 de l'IPC). Par ailleurs les zones touchées par Irma dans le Nord et le Nord-est et par les sécheresses dans les sud-ouest seront en Crise (phase 3 de l’IPC).

De février à mai, coïncidant avec la période de soudure, les réserves constituées à partir des récoltes d'été-automne et d'hiver, ainsi que celles de bananes, de racines et de tubercules devraient considérablement diminuer. Cependant, la vente de main-d'œuvre ou les activités de pêche devrait permettre de compléter les revenus, permettant aux ménages d’accéder aux produits locaux et importés vendus au marché. La majorité du pays restera donc en phase 1 et 2. 

A Propos de l’Élaboration de Scenarios

Afin d’estimer les résultats de la sécurité alimentaire pour les prochains six mois, FEWS NET développe les suppositions de base concernant les événements possible, leurs effets, et les réponses probables des divers acteurs. FEWS NET fait ses analyses basées sur ces suppositions dans le contexte des conditions actuelles et les moyens d’existence locaux pour développer des scénarios estimant les résultats de la sécurité alimentaire. D’habitude, FEWS NET prévient du scénario le plus probable. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

About FEWS NET

Le Réseau des systèmes d’alerte précoce contre la famine est l’un des principaux prestataires d’alertes précoces et d’analyses de l’insécurité alimentaire. Constitué par l’USAID en 1985 pour aider les décideurs à planifier pour les crises humanitaires, FEWS NET fournit des analyses factuelles  concernant quelque 35 pays. Les membres des équipes de mise en œuvre incluent la NASA, la NOAA, le département américain de l ‘Agriculture (USDA) et le gouvernement des États-Unis (USGS), de même que Chemonics International Inc. et Kimetrica. Vous trouverez d’autres informations sur notre travail.

  • USAID Logo
  • USGS Logo
  • USDA Logo
  • NASA Logo
  • NOAA Logo
  • Kilometra Logo
  • Chemonics Logo

Food Security Outlook

Stable conditions across the country except in areas affected by climatic anomalies

October 2017

October 2017 - January 2018

February - May 2018

IPC 2.0 Acute Food Insecurity Phase

1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3: Crisis
4: Emergency
5: Famine
Would likely be at least one phase worse without current or programmed humanitarian assistance
FEWS NET classification is IPC-compatible. IPC-compatible analysis follows key IPC protocols but does not necessarily reflect the consensus of national food security partners.

IPC 2.0 Acute Food Insecurity Phase

1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3: Crisis
4: Emergency
5: Famine
Would likely be at least one phase worse without current or programmed humanitarian assistance
FEWS NET classification is IPC-compatible. IPC-compatible analysis follows key IPC protocols but does not necessarily reflect the consensus of national food security partners.

IPC 2.0 Acute Food Insecurity Phase

1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3+: Crisis or higher
Would likely be at least one phase worse without
current or programmed humanitarian assistance
FEWS NET classification is IPC-compatible. IPC-compatible analysis follows key IPC protocols but does not necessarily reflect the consensus of national food security partners.
FEWS NET Remote Monitoring countries use a colored outline to represent the highest IPC classification in areas of concern.

IPC 2.0 Acute Food Insecurity Phase

Presence countries:
1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3: Crisis
4: Emergency
5: Famine
Remote monitoring
countries:
1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3+: Crisis or higher
Would likely be at least one phase worse without
current or programmed humanitarian assistance
FEWS NET Remote Monitoring countries use a colored outline to represent the highest IPC classification in areas of concern.

Key Messages

  • Harvests of banana, root and tuber, maize, bean, and other crops will sustain local food availability between October and January. Proceeds from the sale of these crops and income from wage labor will help give households market access. Most regions of the country will be in the Minimal (IPC Phase 1) and Stressed (IPC Phase 2) phases of food insecurity with the exception of areas hard hit by Hurricane Irma, which will be in Crisis (IPC Phase 3). 

  • Conditions will remain stable between February and May, with certain areas stricken by Hurricane Irma starting to recover. However, southern coastal areas will be propelled into a Crisis (IPC Phase 3) situation by the cumulative effects of Hurricane Matthew and the poor performance of the Printemps growing season.

  • Hurricanes Irma and Maria had a limited effect on the country as a whole, though certain parts of the Nord-Est and Nord departments suffered major damage. The hurricanes destroyed part of the crops and affected the agricultural labor and trade. They also affected other sources of income such as fishing and salt production.

NATIONAL OVERVIEW

Current situation

Climatic conditions and outlook

In general, climatic conditions are better this year than in 2016. Estimates by different weather forecasting agencies such as the USGS, NOAA, and CARICOF put rainfall levels at or above the average. The good rainfall conditions continued into October, spurring the growth and development of Eté campaign crops. However, conditions in certain parts of the Sud (Tiburon, Les Anglais, Chardonnière, Côteaux, and Roche à Bateaux) and low-lying areas of Nippes (Anse à Veau, Petit Trou, etc.) were somewhat less favorable.

According to the Normalized Difference Vegetation Index (NDVI), the condition of vegetation across the country was much better than last year and well above the ten-year average (Figure 1).

Impact of Hurricanes Irma and Maria

The northern and northeastern parts of the country were severely impacted by Hurricanes Irma and Maria. According to a joint report by the Departmental Bureau of Agriculture for the Nord-Est (DDANE), the Civil Defense Agency (DPC), and the FAO, the hardest hit crops were rice, bananas, cassava, maize, pigeon peas, and peanuts. Approximately 1,308 hectares of crops were completely destroyed, mainly in plain areas (Maribaroux, Fort Liberté, Caracol, Trou du Nord, Limonade, and Quartier Morin) and in the highlands (Mont Organisé, Carice, Sainte Suzanne, and Mombin Crochu).

Impact on seasonal crop production

According to the 2017 Crop and Food Security Assessment Mission (CFSAM) report (by the CNSA and its partners, published in October 2017), the Printemps growing season (March through August) produced near-average harvests. The Eté-fall season devoted mainly to maize and bean crops got underway in July. The harvesting period is already at its height in certain areas such as the Artibonite, Sud, Centre, and mountain areas of Nippes and will reach its peak in November in other areas such as Grand'Anse (Chambellan, Beaumont, etc.). There should be near-average harvests, particularly in the case of beans, which is the main Eté-Automne crop. Certain varieties of maize are already maturing in most parts of the country and are about to be harvested, except in Ounaminthe (in the Nord-Est), where the short-cycle variety of maize planted in that area was already harvested in October.

The good rainfall activity was also very beneficial for other crops such as bananas, peanuts, and roots and tubers, particularly in Grand'Anse, the Sud, mountain areas of Nippes, the Centre, the Artibonite, and the Nord-Ouest. Harvests in these areas are already in progress and are providing large supplies of crops for area markets on which the two main locally grown crops offered for sale are bananas and yams. There are reports of a few minor breadfruit harvests in Grand'Anse nowhere near the size of these harvests prior to the strike by Hurricane Matthew.

Harvests of rice crops planted or transplanted in May and June in the Lower Artibonite are currently underway. According to a key informant in that area, the limited supply of farm labor to work in the harvest is responsible for the average to below-average volume of production. Crops ready for harvesting are rotting in pools of water created by the excessive rainfall in that area. Harvests in Marchand Dessalines and Verrettes (in the Artibonite) are fully completed and preparations are currently underway for the planting of market garden and sweet potato crops.

This month’s rice harvests in Torbeck, in the Sud, have not been that good due to the poor water availability for the planting and transplanting of these crops (in July).

Rice fields in the Nord-Est in general and, more specifically, on the Maribaroux Plain were completely swamped by Hurricane Irma. There was no major damage to crops in Latasse, Ponigot, and Malfety on account of the long low-water period in these areas. However, there was more severe damage to crops in the municipality of Ouanaminthe (in the Upper Maribaroux area) in which travel was still difficult two weeks after the hurricane strike due to the ensuing post-Irma rains keeping water levels in local rice fields from falling.

Food availability

The growing availability of locally grown foodstuffs from the Printemps and Eté growing seasons (ground maize and grain maize, beans (all different varieties), and local varieties of rice) peaked between June and September. According to the Ministry of Agriculture, Natural Resources, and Rural Development (MARNDR), harvests for the Eté growing season account for only 10 percent of national crop production. Thus, there are still market supplies of these foodstuffs, though inventories are limited.

Markets are currently selling bananas and root and tuber crops, which are produced in large quantities, particularly in the South, mountain areas of Nippes and Grand'Anse, the Central Plateau, the Artibonite, and the Northwest (Saint Louis du Nord, Jean-Rabel, etc.). While imported foods or crops from other regions of the country still account for most food consumption in areas affected by Hurricane Matthew, the share of locally grown foodstuffs in the local diet in these areas is gradually returning to normal.

There is a stable availability of imported foods. 

Price trends

Staple food prices monitored by FEWS NET and the CNSA showed little movement between August and September after dropping sharply between July and August.

Average variation in prices across the country between August and September 2017:

  • Maize: + 1.5 percent
  • Imported rice: + 1.7 percent
  • Black beans: < - 1 percent

Variation in prices on specific markets between August and September 2017:

  • Maize prices in Port-au-Prince: + 13 percent
  • Bean prices in Gonaïves: + 11.4 percent
  • Bean prices in Jérémie: - 26.6 percent
  • Rice prices in Jérémie: + 6.5 percent

Prices for imported foodstuffs are stable. 

Animal production

The above-average rainfall activity helped spur new pasture growth, enabling pastoralists to feed their animals. The new natural vegetative growth (particularly in Grand'Anse, the Central department, and the Artibonite) is improving the physical condition and reproductive performance of livestock.

Supply and demand for farm labor

The seasonal rise in demand for labor with the harvests in June-July and the start of the Eté growing season (between July and September) was followed by a slowdown in October. There is about to be a new surge in demand with the ongoing harvests and preparations for the start of the Hiver growing season in November-December, followed by the harvests of Hiver crops in January-February and the start of the Printemps growing season in March-April.

The shortage of farm workers has driven up daily wage rates from 100-150 to 200-250 gourdes. The fact of the matter is that workers are increasingly less interested in performing farm work, preferring to migrate to the Dominican Republic or Chile or to work as motorbike taxi drivers, which is a very common practice. There is a regular flow of seasonal migration by farm workers in mountain areas of the Artibonite and the Nord-Est to irrigated plain areas during harvesting or crop planting periods in search of better working conditions than in their respective home areas.

Other sources of income

Poor households engage in petty trade in crops or non-agricultural products and in the production and sale of charcoal as a way to supplement their normal income.

Data compiled by the Bank of the Republic of Haiti (BRH) suggests a growing influx of private migrant remittances from Haitians living abroad. The quarterly volume of remittances for the period from April through June 2017 was up by close to seven percent from the first quarter of the year (January through March), bringing the value of remittances to more than US$ 700 million. This represents an inter-annual variation of 17 percent (between April-June 2016 and April-June 2017), which could be even larger in December with the year-end holiday season. While very poor households are not direct recipients of foreign remittances, they may benefit indirectly from these remittances insofar as a portion of these funds are used in crop production and other job-creating activities.

Emergency humanitarian assistance

The humanitarian assistance program for the outlook period includes:

  1. Unconditional food assistance from the World Food Program (WFP) for disaster-stricken households;
  2. The distribution of food rations to approximately 29 health centers and as part of the Market Access component of the "KABOS" project operated by Catholic Relief Services (CRS); 
  3. Agribusiness development, natural resource management, and activities by various agencies and organizations such as the WFP and CRS designed to build resilience to natural disasters and food crises.

These operations, targeting over 60,000 households, will be discussed in greater detail in upcoming reports.

Assumptions

The most likely scenario for October 2017 through May 2018 is based on the following assumptions:

 

  • Seasonal forecast. The rainfall outlook is for above-average rainfall activity between October and December, extending through January-February 2018, and average levels of rainfall through April-May.
  • Crop production for the Eté/Automne season (from October-November harvests). Based on the average to above-average rainfall activity between September and November 2017 and the developmental stages of Eté crops, there will likely be a near-average volume of crop production for the Eté growing season, except in areas affected by a major water shortage or large excess of rainfall.  
  • Crop production for the Hiver season. Based on the rainfall outlook, there should be an average volume of Hiver crop production. However, the drought conditions for the last thirty days in low-lying areas of Nippes, the southern coast, Grand’Anse, the Sud-Est, and the Ouest could delay the start of the Hiver growing season.  
  • Farm labor. There will likely be a growing demand for farm labor with the November/December harvests and farming activities for the Hiver growing season, except in areas affected by the drought conditions in the last thirty days. There should be a new surge in demand for labor in January-February for the Hiver harvest, extending into the month of March with the start of the Printemps growing season.
  • Prices for imported and locally grown foodstuffs. There should be very little movement in the prices of imported staples in general and rice in particular with the relatively stable exchange rate for the national currency. The same applies to the prices of locally grown crops, which harvests for the Eté-Automne season should help keep in check through the month of December. Prices for these latter crops are expected to move upwards between February and May, fueled by their increasingly limited availability.
  • Private migrant remittances. According to the BRH, Haitian immigrants inject close to US$ 2 billion a year into the Haitian economy. These remittances are the main source of income for many households while, for others, they are limited to peak spending periods, mainly, the beginning of the new school year in September/October and the year-end holiday season in December. Thus, there will likely be a growing volume of remittances throughout the outlook period.
  • Trends in the exchange rate. Interventions by the country’s monetary authorities injecting over US$120 million into the banking market have stabilized the exchange rate for the Haitian gourde against the U.S. dollar since last April.
  • Humanitarian assistance. Scheduled humanitarian assistance for the outlook period will be in place in areas hard hit by Hurricane Irma, particularly in the Nord-Est. Numerous local and international NGOs are on site to assist the hurricane victims. In addition to humanitarian assistance, this includes livelihood recovery and resilience-building programs for impacted populations. These humanitarian assistance programs will likely extend through the end of the outlook period. However, at present, we have no official data confirming the funding or scheduling of this assistance through May 2018.

Most likely food security outcomes

Harvests of Eté and Hiver maize, bean, pigeon pea, and sorghum crops should keep the food security situation stable between October and January. In addition, the good performance of banana, root, and tuber crops suggests a certain degree of stability in local food availability. Moreover, income from wage labor and the sale of these crops will help give poor households market access. Thus, households in most areas of the country will continue to experience Minimal (IPC Phase 1) food insecurity. The structural problems in some parts of the country, particularly in the southeast and certain municipalities in the central department, are forcing many households to regularly resort to atypical strategies for maintaining their food and non-food access, which puts these areas in the Stressed (IPC Phase 2) phase of food insecurity. In addition, areas stricken by Hurricane Irma in the Nord and Nord-Est and drought-stricken areas in the Southwest will be in a Crisis (IPC Phase 3) situation.

Food reserves from harvests of Eté-Automne and Hiver crops and reserves of bananas and root and tuber crops will likely be sharply reduced between February and May, during the annual lean season. However, earnings from wage labor or fishing activities should help supplement household income, giving households access to locally grown and imported foodstuffs sold on the market. Thus, most parts of the country will remain in IPC Phases 1 and 2.

About Scenario Development

To project food security outcomes, FEWS NET develops a set of assumptions about likely events, their effects, and the probable responses of various actors. FEWS NET analyzes these assumptions in the context of current conditions and local livelihoods to arrive at a most likely scenario for the coming eight months. Learn more here.

About FEWS NET

The Famine Early Warning Systems Network is a leading provider of early warning and analysis on food insecurity. Created by USAID in 1985 to help decision-makers plan for humanitarian crises, FEWS NET provides evidence-based analysis on some 34 countries. Implementing team members include NASA, NOAA, USDA, and USGS, along with Chemonics International Inc. and Kimetrica. Read more about our work.

USAID logoUSGS logoUSDA logo
NASA logoNOAA logoKimetrica logoChemonics logo