Perspectives sur la sécurité alimentaire

La fin de la campagne agricole contribue à des stocks alimentaires globalement bons

Février 2017 - Septembre 2017

Février - Mai 2017

Guinea February 2017 Food Security Projections for February to May

Juin - Septembre 2017

Guinea February 2017 Food Security Projections for June to September

IPC 2.0 Phase d'Insécurité Alimentaire Aiguë

1: Minimale
2: Stress
3: Crise
4: Urgence
5: Famine
Serait probablement pire, au moins une phase, sans l'assistance humanitaire en cours ou programmée
La manière de classification que FEWS NET utilise est compatible avec l’IPC. Une analyse qui est compatible avec l’IPC suit les principaux protocoles de l’IPC mais ne reflète pas nécessairement le consensus des partenaires nationaux en matière de sécurité alimentaire.

IPC 2.0 Phase d'Insécurité Alimentaire Aiguë

1: Minimale
2: Stress
3: Crise
4: Urgence
5: Famine
Serait probablement pire, au moins une phase, sans l'assistance humanitaire en cours ou programmée
La manière de classification que FEWS NET utilise est compatible avec l’IPC. Une analyse qui est compatible avec l’IPC suit les principaux protocoles de l’IPC mais ne reflète pas nécessairement le consensus des partenaires nationaux en matière de sécurité alimentaire.

IPC 2.0 Phase d'Insécurité Alimentaire Aiguë

1: Minimale
2: Stress
3+: Crise ou pire
Serait probablement pire, au moins une phase, sans
l'assistance humanitaire en cours ou programmée
La manière de classification que FEWS NET utilise est compatible avec l’IPC. Une analyse qui est compatible avec l’IPC suit les principaux protocoles de l’IPC mais ne reflète pas nécessairement le consensus des partenaires nationaux en matière de sécurité alimentaire.
Pour les pays suivis à distance par FEWS NET, un contour coloré est utilisé pour représenter la classification de l’IPC la plus élevée dans les zones de préoccupation.

IPC 2.0 Phase d'Insécurité Alimentaire Aiguë

Pays de présence:
1: Minimale
2: Stress
3: Crise
4: Urgence
5: Famine
Pays suivis à distance:
1: Minimale
2: Stress
3+: Crise ou pire
Serait probablement pire, au moins une phase, sans
l'assistance humanitaire en cours ou programmée
Pour les pays suivis à distance par FEWS NET, un contour coloré est utilisé pour représenter la classification de l’IPC la plus élevée dans les zones de préoccupation.

Messages clés

  • Les opérations post-récoltes, notamment le battage du riz des plaines de mangroves, des plaines alluviales et les bas-fonds, l’épluchage et séchage du manioc, et la réalisation du maraichage se poursuivent dans la plupart préfectures du pays et procurent de façon typique des revenus et de la nourriture aux ménages.

  • La reconstitution des réserves alimentaires se poursuit avec la fin des récoltes de la campagne 2016/17, jugée moyenne à bonne au niveau national. Toutefois, certaines localités touchées par des séquences de sécheresse, des inondations et des attaques de pomme de terre en Moyenne Guinée en août 2016 ont enregistré de légères baisses de production.

  • L’approvisionnement des marchés en céréales est suffisant et les réserves alimentaires se reconstituent grâce aux récoltes de produits agricoles moyennes à bonnes dans l’ensemble à travers le pays. Les prix du riz resteront relativement stables sur les 3 prochains mois et connaitront des hausses en prélude au mois de ramadan. Il en sera de même pour les produits importés comme le sucre, les oignons les huiles alimentaires. La hausse saisonnière des prix qui suit l’épuisement des stocks au niveau des ménages sera observée de juin à août qui constitue la période de soudure en Guinée.

Contexte national

Situation actuelle

Production céréalières

En dépit des anomalies agro-climatiques enregistrées pour la campagne agricole 2016/2017 (les inondations, les séquences de sècheresse, les attaques de nuisibles sur la pomme de terre au Fouta), la production céréalière à la fin de la campagne est globalement moyenne à bonne dans le pays, ce qui améliore les disponibilités alimentaires au niveau des ménages. Toutefois, des baisses localisées de production céréalière notamment le riz et le maïs sont signalées surtout à Siguiri.

Les inondations de fin juillet-début août et les séquences de sécheresse qui s’en ont suivi ont réduit la production de riz dans certaines zones de la Basse Guinée notamment à Boffa et à Boké. Quant au maraichage, les activités se poursuivent et procurent des revenus moyens à supérieurs à la moyenne aux exploitants.

La reconstitution des stocks est en cours grâce aux récoltes moyennes à supérieures à la moyenne et des revenus issus de la vente des produits maraichers ; ce qui améliore la diversification alimentaire et met les ménages pauvres à l’abri de la dépendance du marché.

Cultures de rentes

La reprise des échanges de produits agricoles sur les marchés nationaux (céréales, tubercules, oléagineux) frontaliers (huile de palme, pomme de terre, arachide, produits maraichers) et internationaux (café, cacao, ananas, anacarde, hévéa) s’améliorent de plus en plus, depuis la fin de la maladie à Virus Ebola. La baisse du cours international de l’hévéa se maintient depuis plusieurs mois et n’est pas de nature à encourager l’extension de sa culture. Pour les noix de cajou, la hausse de sa production dans le pays grâce à son prix attractif depuis l’année dernière, procure des revenus supérieurs à la moyenne aux ménages exploitants.

Conditions pastorales

La situation est demeurée calme et on ne note pas de cas d’épizootie majeure. Le bon niveau de remplissage des points d’eau et des pâturages grâce aux grandes pluies, permet un bon abreuvement et un bon embonpoint du cheptel (bovins, caprins, ovins) ; ce qui favorise une amélioration de la production de lait. Aucun conflit majeur entre éleveurs et producteurs n’a été signalé.

Conditions piscicoles

En plus de la pêche maritime et dans les grands fleuves et cours d’eau, la pisciculture est en voie d’expansion surtout en zone forestière et contribue à augmenter les disponibilités en poissons mais également à améliorer les revenus des pêcheurs. Le disponible en poissons cette campagne est supérieur à celui de l’année dernière et par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale.

Le niveau d’approvisionnement du marché en poissons transformés, frais et congelés est satisfaisant. Le degré d’approvisionnement est moyen par rapport à celui de l’année dernière et reste satisfaisante par rapport à la moyenne des trois dernières années.

Marchés à céréales

L’approvisionnement des marchés en céréales est régulier grâce à la période de commercialisation des produits locaux et de la présence du riz importé. Comparé à l’année dernière, l’approvisionnement des marchés en céréales est moyen et similaire à la moyenne des cinq dernières années. Les prix du riz (local et importé) qui est la principale céréale consommée, restent stables pour l’instant. Malgré la bonne période de commercialisation des produits locaux, les prix du riz local n’ont pas subi leur baisse saisonnière typique. Ils sont compris entre 5000 et 6500 FG/kg alors que le riz importé connait une faible variation à la hausse passant de 5500 en 2016 à 6000 FG en 2017. Cette situation est relativement similaire à celle des cinq dernières années.

Le marché à bétail est approvisionné de manière très satisfaisante. Le niveau des approvisionnements est légèrement inférieur à celle de l’année dernière à cause du déplacement de certains éleveurs avec leurs troupeaux vers les zones de pâturage et voire même en Sierra Leone.

L’augmentation du prix du bétail et de la viande d’environ 10 pour cent, enregistrée depuis l’an dernier se maintient ; ce qui limite leur accès aux ménages pauvres à cette denrée. Ces niveaux de prix sont supérieurs par rapport à la même période en 2016 et supérieurs par rapport à la moyenne quinquennale.

Activités économiques

Avec la place de plus en plus importante de l’orpaillage dans le pays, le Gouvernement a adopté des textes pour le lancement des projets pilotes, la finalisation du recensement et la parcellisation déjà engagées dans toutes les zones aurifères. Ils sont en cours de mise en œuvre afin d’encourager participation de l’exploitation artisanale de l’or dans le secteur formel.

Les mesures d’encouragement du gouvernement sur le développement de la filière anacarde permettront aux producteurs d’engranger des revenus substantiels. La poursuite de la dévaluation favorisera les exportations agricoles guinéennes (faibles quantités) mais seront ressentis par les consommateurs en ce qui concerne les produits alimentaires importés.

La migration est essentiellement tournée vers les zones minières à l’intérieur du pays et dans les pays limitrophes. Les revenus de la migration contribuent à l’amélioration du cadre de vie des ménages et de financer d’autres activités économiques comme le commerce, les taxis motos dans les villes et les grandes agglomérations. Les revenus venant de l’étranger sont souvent injectés dans l’agriculture sans beaucoup d’informations sur le volume et le secteur où ils sont utilisés.

Situation de la sécurité alimentaire

La production agricole de cette année est globalement similaire à celle de l’année dernière et supérieure à la moyenne quinquennale ; ce qui permet une bonne disponibilité en céréales dans le pays et favorable à une bonne consommation alimentaire. Les prix actuels du riz qui constitue la principale céréale consommée, la disponibilité moyenne en tubercules et produits maraichers favorisent un accès moyen de la majorité des ménages à la nourriture. Par conséquent, toutes les zones du pays sont actuellement en situation d’insécurité alimentaire minimale (Phase 1 de l’IPC).

Suppositions

Le scénario le plus probable de février à septembre 2017 est basé sur les hypothèses suivantes au niveau national:

  • Pluviométrie : La préfecture de Yomou, située en région forestière, et la préfecture de Dalaba en Moyenne Guinée, ont déjà enregistré les premières gouttes de pluie de l’année 2017. Les premières pluies normales dans le pays commenceront à tomber en avril et se poursuivront jusqu’en septembre avec des pics en juillet/aout/septembre. Il est attendu que les cumuls de pluies soient similaires à la moyenne. Un niveau typique saisonnier des inondations est aussi attendu.
  • Productions agricoles : L’ANASA estime à 6,17 pour cent, le taux d’accroissement de la production du riz en Guinée. Les pluies moyennes attendues permettront la mise en culture et dans le temps des superficies habituelles de culture au niveau du pays. La poursuite des aménagements hydroagricoles et les appuis en intrants agricoles (semences, engrais, produits phytosanitaires) du gouvernement pour rehausser les productions agricoles contribueront à une production agricole 2017-2018 moyenne à supérieure à la moyenne dans le pays avec des récoltes qui commenceront en fin-aout début- septembre.
  • Cultures de rente : Globalement, les revenus issus des cultures de rentes pour la campagne 2016/2017 seront supérieurs à ceux de l’an passé et supérieurs à la moyenne quinquennale grâce à la relance de la culture de l’anacarde, du coton, et à la reprise des échanges de produits agricoles (huile de palme, arachide, ananas) sur les marchés transfrontaliers et internationaux. La période la plus importante pour ces revenus se situe entre avril et juin. Cependant, les pertes dues aux attaques de pomme de terre par des champignons en août 2016 au Fouta seront largement moindres pour la campagne 2017/2018 par rapport à l’année dernière à cause de toutes les dispositions mises en œuvre pour leur éradication (disponibilité de produits phytosanitaires, introduction de nouvelles semences améliorées, formation des producteurs sur les itinéraires technique) par les organisations de producteurs et les encadreurs.
  • Productions maraichères : L’extension des cultures maraichères actuellement dans la plupart des préfectures de la Guinée en raison des revenus importants qu’elles procurent et la vulgarisation des itinéraires techniques auprès des producteurs par les structures techniques permettront la réalisation d’une production moyenne à supérieure à la moyenne de février à septembre 2017.

Sources de revenus et de nourriture

  • Les revenus des activités minières (or, diamant, bauxite) seront moyens à supérieurs à la moyenne avec l’extension du domaine d’exploitation par rapport aux années précédentes, et malgré les nouvelles mesures envisagées pour l’exploitation artisanale qui exigent une carte professionnelle pour les exploitants et la baisse marquée de la productivité du diamant. L’extension de sociétés minières pour la bauxite en Basse Guinée attirera encore d’avantage de la main d’œuvre ; ce qui engendrera des revenus importants pour les migrants.

    Main d’œuvre agricole : Comme d’habitude, la réduction du nombre d’actifs, liée aux départs des bras valides vers les sites d’orpaillage et leur non-retour de plus en plus constaté pour les activités agricoles maintiendront le coût de la main d’œuvre toujours élevé. En conséquence, le coût de l’unité de main d’œuvre sera supérieur à la moyenne mais ne procurera que des revenus globalement inférieurs à la moyenne compte tenu de la réduction du nombre d’actifs agricoles par rapport à la moyenne.

  • Pêche : Les activités de pêche qui ont commencé en octobre 2016 se poursuivront jusqu’en juin 2017 avec la baisse du niveau de la lame d’eau pour la pêche continentale en eau douce. Elles connaitront une baisse en juillet-aout et septembre à cause de la période des grandes pluies aussi bien pour la pêche maritime que pour la pêche continentale. La hausse des captures de février à juin rehaussera les revenus des ménages pêcheurs qui seront moyens à supérieurs à la moyenne.

  • Conditions pastorales : L’installation normale des pluies en mai 2017, favorisera la régénération habituelle des pâturages et des points d’eau favorable à une reprise normale de la production animale. L’accalmie sur le plan zoo sanitaire de cette année se maintiendra jusqu’en septembre 2017.

  • Revenus de l’elevage : Les productions animales attendues permettront aux éleveurs de bénéficier des revenus moyens issus de la vente des animaux, du lait, des peaux et cuirs, surtout que la reprise du commerce transfrontalier et la dévaluation continue du Franc Guinéen par rapport aux monnaies étrangères y est favorable. Les prix resteront supérieurs par rapport à l’an passé et supérieurs à la moyenne des 5 dernières années.

Les marchés

  • Approvisionnements des marchés : Avec la période de commercialisation des produits agricoles sur toute l’étendue du territoire national, les stocks sont bien constitués et les marchés bien approvisionnés. En plus, les disponibilités en riz importés maintiendront la bonne disponibilité céréalière sur les marchés jusqu’en septembre 2017 et les prix relativement stables, donc accessibles aux ménages pauvres.

  • Les flux commerciaux transfrontaliers : En dehors de quelques tracasseries routières, la normalisation des échanges entre la Guinée, les pays frontaliers et les autres pays du monde se poursuivra pendant la période de scenario (février – septembre 2017).

  • Prix des denrées alimentaires : En raison des bonnes récoltes pour la campagne agricoles 2016/2017, la stabilité des prix du riz se poursuivra jusqu’en juin et observeront de légères fluctuations à la hausse de juillet à août pour se normaliser à partir de septembre 2017 avec la présence sur le marché, de nouvelles récoltes. Les prix du riz local étuvé sont restés relativement stables entre 5000 et 6500 FG /Kg pendant que les prix du riz importé étuvé ont connu une hausse d’environ 10% en passant de 5000 à 5500 FG /Kg. Pour le riz importé blanchi, les prix ont oscillé entre 4000 et 4500 FG/kg. Ces niveaux de prix se maintiendront et faciliteront l’accès du riz à la majorité des ménages.

  • Prix des produits de rente : Les prix des principales cultures de rente resteront globalement moyens pendant la période de scenario de février à septembre. Le prix de l’huile est particulièrement élevé en février mais se normalisera pendant la bonne période de commercialisation de mars à juin 2017. Pour les noix de cajou, les prix sont à la hausse depuis la fixation d’un prix plancher d’achat bord-champ à 5000 GNF, le kilogramme en avril 2016 par le Gouvernement.

  • Environnement socio-économique : L’inflation continue du franc guinéen et favorisera les exportations, surtout pour les produits alimentaires et d’élevage.

Résultats les plus probables de la sécurité alimentaire

Avec l’engrangement des grandes récoltes depuis octobre 2016 jusqu’en janvier 2017, les disponibilités alimentaires au niveau des ménages améliorent la situation alimentaire qui se poursuivra jusqu’en juin 2017. En juillet et août, les ménages vont connaitre une baisse typique des stocks dont ils disposent mais seront soulagées en début septembre avec la venue des nouvelles récoltes. La disponibilité moyenne à importante de produits agricoles locaux (céréales, tubercules, oléagineux) et importés en cette fin de campagne agricole favorisera le maintien des prix des denrées à des niveaux similaires à la moyenne ; ce qui est favorable à un accès moyen des ménages à la nourriture. La poursuite normale des activités source de revenus durant toute la période de scenario et qui procureront des revenus moyens aux ménages seront favorables à une alimentation moyenne pour la majorité des ménages. En dépit de la baisse habituelle de la disponibilité et de la diversité alimentaire de juillet à août, période de soudure en Guinée, le maintien des prix du riz (local et importé) à leur niveau actuel, similaire à la moyenne, les ménages se maintiendront en insécurité alimentaire minimale (Phase 1 IPC) jusqu’en septembre 2017. Une amélioration de la situation alimentaire par rapport à la soudure est attendue en septembre avec le début de récolte du riz de coteau, du maïs, du fonio et du manioc.

 

Pour plus d'informations sur les perspectives des zones de préoccupation, veuillez, s'il vous plaît, cliquer en haut de la page pour télécharger le rapport complet.

A Propos de l’Élaboration de Scenarios

Afin d’estimer les résultats de la sécurité alimentaire pour les prochains six mois, FEWS NET développe les suppositions de base concernant les événements possible, leurs effets, et les réponses probables des divers acteurs. FEWS NET fait ses analyses basées sur ces suppositions dans le contexte des conditions actuelles et les moyens d’existence locaux pour développer des scénarios estimant les résultats de la sécurité alimentaire. D’habitude, FEWS NET prévient du scénario le plus probable. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici.

About FEWS NET

Le Réseau des systèmes d’alerte précoce contre la famine est l’un des principaux prestataires d’alertes précoces et d’analyses de l’insécurité alimentaire. Constitué par l’USAID en 1985 pour aider les décideurs à planifier pour les crises humanitaires, FEWS NET fournit des analyses factuelles  concernant quelque 35 pays. Les membres des équipes de mise en œuvre incluent la NASA, la NOAA, le département américain de l ‘Agriculture (USDA) et le gouvernement des États-Unis (USGS), de même que Chemonics International Inc. et Kimetrica. Vous trouverez d’autres informations sur notre travail.

  • USAID Logo
  • USGS Logo
  • USDA Logo
  • NASA Logo
  • NOAA Logo
  • Kilometra Logo
  • Chemonics Logo

Guinea flag

Presence Country
Food Security Outlook

Overall good food stocks with the end of the growing season

February 2017 to September 2017

February - May 2017

Guinea February 2017 Food Security Projections for February to May

June - September 2017

Guinea February 2017 Food Security Projections for June to September

IPC 2.0 Acute Food Insecurity Phase

1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3: Crisis
4: Emergency
5: Famine
Would likely be at least one phase worse without current or programmed humanitarian assistance
FEWS NET classification is IPC-compatible. IPC-compatible analysis follows key IPC protocols but does not necessarily reflect the consensus of national food security partners.

IPC 2.0 Acute Food Insecurity Phase

1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3: Crisis
4: Emergency
5: Famine
Would likely be at least one phase worse without current or programmed humanitarian assistance
FEWS NET classification is IPC-compatible. IPC-compatible analysis follows key IPC protocols but does not necessarily reflect the consensus of national food security partners.

IPC 2.0 Acute Food Insecurity Phase

1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3+: Crisis or higher
Would likely be at least one phase worse without
current or programmed humanitarian assistance
FEWS NET classification is IPC-compatible. IPC-compatible analysis follows key IPC protocols but does not necessarily reflect the consensus of national food security partners.
FEWS NET Remote Monitoring countries use a colored outline to represent the highest IPC classification in areas of concern.

IPC 2.0 Acute Food Insecurity Phase

Presence countries:
1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3: Crisis
4: Emergency
5: Famine
Remote monitoring
countries:
1: Minimal
2: Stressed
3+: Crisis or higher
Would likely be at least one phase worse without
current or programmed humanitarian assistance
FEWS NET Remote Monitoring countries use a colored outline to represent the highest IPC classification in areas of concern.

Key Messages

  • Post-harvest activities, such as the threshing of rice crops in mangrove and alluvial plain and lowland areas, and the cleaning and drying of cassava crops and market gardening, activities are still underway in most prefectures across the country, providing households with typical levels of food and income.

  • Food reserves are being steadily replenished with the completion of the average to above-average harvests for the 2016/17 season across the country. However, certain areas affected by dry spells, floods, and infestations of potato crops in Middle Guinea in August 2016 have reported small production shortfalls.

  • There are adequate market supplies of cereals, and food reserves are being replenished with fresh crops from the good harvests across the country. Rice prices will be relatively stable for the next three months before rising in anticipation of the month-long observance of Ramadan. Prices for imported foods such as sugar, onions, and cooking oil will follow this same trend. There will be a seasonal rise in prices with the depletion of household food stocks between June and August, which marks the lean season in Guinea.

    This report is being translated to English.

National overview

Current situation

Cereal production

Despite the reported weather anomalies during the 2016/2017  growing season (floods, dry spells, and pest infestations of potato crops in Fouta), there are generally average to above-average levels of national cereal production for this past growing season, which is improving household food availability. However, there are reports of localized shortfalls in cereal production in general and rice and maize production in particular, primarily in Siguiri.

The flooding at the end of July/beginning of August and the ensuing dry spells reduced rice production in certain parts of Lower Guinea such as Boffa and Boké. Market gardening activities are still underway, providing average to above-average revenues for farming households engaged in these activities.

Food stocks are being replenished with fresh crops from the average to above-average harvests and income from the sale of market garden crops, which is improving dietary diversity and keeping poor households from becoming market-dependent.

Cash crops

Trade in crops on domestic (cereals, tubers, and oilseeds), border (palm oil, potatoes, peanuts, and market garden produce), and international (coffee, cocoa, pineapples, cashews, and rubber) markets has been steadily picking up since the eradication of Ebola virus disease. The steady drop in the international market price of rubber for the past several months is not likely to inspire an expansion in these crop-growing activities. On the other hand, the expansion in domestic cashew production due to its attractive price since last year is generating above-average levels of income for households growing these crops.

Pastoral conditions

Conditions are stable, with no signs of any major epizootic outbreaks. The good levels of pasture and watering holes with the heavy rainfall activity are creating good animal watering conditions and keeping livestock (cattle, sheep, and goats) in good physical shape, which should help improve milk production. There are no reports of any major disputes between farmers and pastoralists.

Fishing conditions

In addition to ocean fishing activities and fishing activities in large rivers and streams, there are growing numbers of fish farming operations, particularly in the Forest Zone, which are helping to improve the availability of fish as well as the incomes of fishing households. Available fish stocks for this season are better than last year and above the five-year average.

There are adequate market supplies of fresh and frozen fish and processed fish products. Supply levels are average compared with last year and satisfactory compared with the average for the last three years.

Cereal markets

The marketing season for locally grown crops and presence of imported rice are ensuring regular market supplies of cereals. Market cereal supplies are average compared with last year and close to the five-year average. Prices for rice (local and imported varieties), which is the main cereal consumed by Guinean households, are presently stable. Despite the good marketing season for locally grown crops, prices for local varieties of rice have not dropped in line with normal seasonal trends and are still between 5000 and 6500 GNF/kg. Prices for imported rice have inched up slightly from 5500 GNF in 2016 to 6000 GNF in 2017. The current situation is relatively similar to trends in the last five years.

There are more than adequate supplies of animals on livestock markets. Supplies are slightly lower than last year with certain pastoralists driving their herds to grazing areas and, in some cases, Sierra Leone.

The rise in prices for livestock and meat by approximately 10 percent since last year is holding, which is limiting access to this food source for poor households. Price levels are up from the same time in 2016 and above the five-year average.

Economic activity

With the growing importance of gold mining activities in this country, the government has passed legislation for the launching of pilot projects, the completion of the survey, and the parceling process already underway in all gold-bearing areas. The legislation is designed to help mainstream artisanal gold-mining operations into the formal sector of the economy.

The government incentives designed to promote the development of cashew production will allow growers to earn amounts of income from these activities. The steady devaluation of the local currency will help promote exports of Guinean crops (small quantities), but will hurt consumers looking to purchase imported foods.

Most migration is to mining areas within the country and in neighboring countries. Migration income helps households improve their standard of living and finance other economic activities such as trade and motorbike taxi services in cities and large population centers. Income from foreign remittances is oftentimes invested in farming activities, though there is very little data with respect to the amount of income involved and the sector in which it is used.

Food security situation

In general, crop production for this year is similar to last year’s production and above the five-year average. This is helping to promote good cereal availability across the country and good food consumption. Current prices for rice, the main cereal consumed by Guinean households, and average supplies of tubers and market garden produce are helping to give most households average food access. Thus, all regions of the country are currently experiencing Minimal (IPC Phase 1) food insecurity.

Assumptions

The most likely scenario for February through September 2017 is based on the following assumptions with respect to nationwide conditions:

  • Rainfall: The first rains for 2017 have already fallen in Yomou prefecture in the Forest Zone and Dalaba prefecture in Middle Guinea. The first rains normally begin in April in all parts of the country and continue through the month of September, peaking in July/August/September. Cumulative rainfall totals are expected to be near-average, producing typical levels of seasonal flooding.
  • Crop production: The ANASA (National Bureau of Agricultural Statistics) estimates the growth rate for rice production in Guinea at 6.17 percent. The expected average rainfall will allow for the timely planting of the usual areas in crops in all parts of the country. The pursuit of hydro-agricultural development projects and the farm input assistance (seeds, fertilizer, and plant health products) provided by the government to boost crop yields will help promote average to above-average levels of crop production for 2017-2018 in all parts of the country, with harvests getting underway by the end of August or the beginning of September.
  • Cash crops: In general, revenues from cash crops for the 2016/2017 season will be larger than last year and above the five-year average with the revitalization of cashew and cotton production and the rebound in crop trading activities (for palm oil, peanuts, and pineapples) on cross-border and international markets. The peak period for this source of income-generation is between April and June. The losses from the fungal infestations of potato crops in Fouta in August 2016 will be brought way down for the 2017/2018 season compared with last year by the various control measures implemented by farmers’ organizations and extension workers (availability of plant health products, introduction of new improved seeds, farmer training in crop management techniques).
  • Market garden production: The current expansion of market gardening activities in most Guinean prefectures driven by the high levels of income-generation from these activities and the training of farmers in crop management techniques by specialized agencies will help promote average to above-average levels of crop production between February and September 2017.

Sources of food and income

  • Migration: There will be average to above-average levels of income from mining activities (gold, diamonds, and bauxite) with the expansion in mining areas compared with previous years in spite of the new envisioned measures affecting artisanal mining activities requiring miners to obtain a license and the sharp decline in the productivity of diamond mining operations. The growing numbers of bauxite mining companies in Lower Guinea will attract even more labor, producing large amounts of migration income.
  • Farm labor: As usual, the smaller labor pool with the departure of workers for gold mining sites and the failure by more and more of these workers to return home to engage in farming activities will keep wage rates high. As a result, wage rates will be above-average but, in general, will generate below-average levels of wage income due to the smaller than average numbers of farm laborers.
  • Fishing: Fishing activities, starting up in October 2016, will continue through June 2017 with the falling water levels on inland waterways for freshwater fishing activities. There will be a slowdown in both ocean fishing and inland fishing activities in July-August and September at the height of the rainy season. The larger catches between February and June will strengthen the incomes of fishing households, putting them at or above the average.
  • Pastoral conditions: The timely start of the rains in May 2017 will help spur the usual new pasture growth and replenishment of watering holes, promoting a normal return in animal production. This year’s stable animal health conditions should continue through September 2017.
  • Income from livestock-raising activities: The expected levels of animal production should help pastoral households generate average amounts of income from the sale of animals, milk, skins, and hides, particularly with the favorable conditions created by the pick-up in cross-border trade and steady devaluation of the Guinean franc against foreign currencies. Prices will stay above figures for last year and the five-year average.

Markets

  • Market supplies: With the crop marketing season in progress in all parts of the country, food stocks are at good levels and there are good market supplies. Moreover, available supplies of imported rice will maintain good cereal availability on local markets through September 2017 and keep prices relatively stable and, thus, affordable for poor households.
  • Cross-border trade: In spite of a few problems with road harassment, there will be a steady normalization of trade between Guinea and neighboring countries and other countries around the world throughout the outlook period (February through September 2017).
  • Food prices: The good harvests for the 2016/2017 crop year will keep rice prices stable through June. This will be followed by small price increases between July and August, with the presence of fresh crops on local markets stabilizing prices as of September 2017. Prices for locally grown parboiled rice have been relatively stable, at between 5000 and 6500 GNF/kg, while the price of imported parboiled rice is up from 5000 to 5500 GNF/kg, or by approximately 10 percent. Prices for imported milled rice range from 4000 to 4500 GNF/kg. These prices will remain stable, facilitating access to rice supplies for most households.
  • Prices of cash crops: In general, prices for all major cash crops will stay in line with the average throughout the outlook period from February through September. The good marketing season between March and June 2017 will bring the exceptionally high price of oil in February back down to normal levels. Prices for cashews have been on the rise ever since the government set a farm-gate floor price of 5000 GNF/kg in April 2016.
  • Socioeconomic environment: The steady devaluation of the Guinean franc will help promote exports, particularly of food crops and animal products.
Most likely food security outcomes

The good household food availability with the good harvests between October 2016 and January 2017 will continue to improve the food security situation through June 2017. The normal decline in household food stocks in July and August will be eased by the harvests of fresh crops early in September. The current average to large availability of locally grown (cereals, tubers, and oilseeds) and imported crops at the end of the growing season will help keep food prices close to average, which will help give households average food access. Average levels of household income from the normal pursuit of income-generating activities throughout the outlook period will help most households maintain an average diet. Even with the usual decline in food availability and dietary diversity between July and August, which marks the lean season in Guinea, households will continue to experience Minimal (IPC Phase 1) food insecurity through September 2017 owing to the stable near-average prices of local and imported varieties of rice. There should be an improvement in the food security situation in September with the first harvests of upland rice, maize, fonio, and cassava, compared with conditions during the lean season.

 

For more information on the outlook for specific areas of concern, please click the download button at the top of the page for the full report.

About Scenario Development

To project food security outcomes, FEWS NET develops a set of assumptions about likely events, their effects, and the probable responses of various actors. FEWS NET analyzes these assumptions in the context of current conditions and local livelihoods to arrive at a most likely scenario for the coming eight months. Learn more here.

About FEWS NET

The Famine Early Warning Systems Network is a leading provider of early warning and analysis on food insecurity. Created by USAID in 1985 to help decision-makers plan for humanitarian crises, FEWS NET provides evidence-based analysis on some 34 countries. Implementing team members include NASA, NOAA, USDA, and USGS, along with Chemonics International Inc. and Kimetrica. Read more about our work.

USAID logoUSGS logoUSDA logo
NASA logoNOAA logoKimetrica logoChemonics logo